The Law Offices of Andrew Farley, LLC
Lexington DUI Attorney About Us Attorney Profile Family Law Contact Us
Get the answers to frequently asked questions. We're available 24/7 - fill out our online form today! Learn more about DUI penalties


Available 24/7

Practice Areas Information Center
DMV Hearings
Drivers' License Restoration
Driving on a Suspended License
DUI with Injury
DUI Penalties
Field Sobriety Tests
Leaving the Scene
Multiple DUI
Underage DUI
Vehicular Manslaughter
Click here to read more information on our company blog.
We proudly accept these cards

Penalties for a DUI Conviction

Facing criminal charges of drinking and driving can instill a great deal of fear and anxiety in you. It is important that you aggressively pursue your rights, your goals, and your desires in your case, and that you have the skillful representation on your side that you need. I am Attorney Farley from The Farley Law Firm, LLC, and I believe in the necessity for accurate information. I provide this for many purposes, but foremost is that you are not plagued by unnecessary fear of the unknown. Your situation is important to me, and I can provide you with additional information that you may need.

The following are the penalties for a first DUI conviction. It is important to know that there are many other penalties that you could face - many of them more severe if you are convicted of a second or subsequent offense.

  • Minimum 48 hours in South Carolina jail, maximum of 30 days
  • Mandatory 6-month license suspension
  • Up to $400 in fines
  • 48 hours of public service

If your BAC is above 0.10%, then you will face increased penalties:

  • Minimum of 72 hours in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines
  • 72 hours of public service

If your BAC is above 0.16%, then you will face the following penalties:

  • Mandatory 6-month license suspension
  • 30 - 60 days in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • 30 days of public service

Other penalties

There are many other penalties that you could face for various related offenses. If you decline to take a breathalyzer test, pursuant to South Carolina implied consent law, then you will face six months' license suspension for a first conviction, nine months for a second, and one year for a third or subsequent offense. It is important that you are informed of the various penalties that you could face, and that you have skilled representation on your side that you can count on to help you. Seek my legal assistance in your case today.